National League Rugby Discussion Forums Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > League Rugby - www.leaguerugby.co.uk > Clubhouse chat
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Straight line outs
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

IMPORTANT Remember to read the rules of the board and abide by them when posting.

Straight line outs

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
carlos fandango View Drop Down
World Cup Winner
World Cup Winner
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jun 2011
Location: Hertford
Status: Offline
Points: 652
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote carlos fandango Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Straight line outs
    Posted: 01 Dec 2018 at 18:36
Can I ask for an explanation of a not straight line out throw these days, because the law seems to have changed somewhat from what I have seen recently.

If Team A throws in and it goes a foot or more towards the Team B side, but Team A's jumper reaches over and takes it, does that count as not straight or not?

I've seen a few this season where refs haven't called it. Could be they just miss it, could be the laws have changed, could be they've been told to ignore it.

Anyone got a clue? 
Back to Top
OldNick View Drop Down
World Cup Winner
World Cup Winner


Joined: 20 May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Online
Points: 2562
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote OldNick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Dec 2018 at 22:14
As a general rule referees only call it if it gives the thrower’s team advantage by not being straight.
Even then they often do not call it if the defending team does not compete for the ball.

It is massively inconsistent, and it is not at all rare to see the attacking team’s jumper have to lean back away from the defenders to take a ball, and yet still not be called for not straight.

My suspicion is that the officials are so busy looking for other offences, particularly dangerous ones in the air, and, for some reason offside lifters when the jumper lands that this law may s largely ignored.

Back to Top
SKalpy View Drop Down
World Cup Winner
World Cup Winner


Joined: 22 May 2007
Location: Park Lane
Status: Offline
Points: 797
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote SKalpy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Dec 2018 at 22:23
If you can't win the ball when it's chucked down your side then it doesn't deserve to be called 'not straight'.

I have never seen a lineout where the ball was not thrown straight. However, I have seen plenty where the ball was not thrown in the middle.Wink


Edited by SKalpy - 01 Dec 2018 at 22:46
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.04
Copyright ©2001-2015 Web Wiz Ltd.