National League Rugby Discussion Forums Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > League Rugby - www.leaguerugby.co.uk > Regional Premier Leagues
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Quick kick off after penalty try
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

IMPORTANT Remember to read the rules of the board and abide by them when posting.

Quick kick off after penalty try

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Barum man View Drop Down
British and Irish Lion
British and Irish Lion


Joined: 27 May 2016
Location: Southwest
Status: Offline
Points: 238
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Barum man Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Quick kick off after penalty try
    Posted: 17 Nov 2019 at 15:08
Yesterday in Barum’s match against Maidenhead Barum were awarded a penalty try. A Maidenhead player got the ball and sprinted to the halfway line and kicked off before most all of the Barum players had got back in their own half – the ref was also still way back in the 22.

I have never seen this before and was surprised that the ref allowed it to stand so I guess it must be within the law's.

 



Edited by Barum man - 17 Nov 2019 at 17:30
Back to Top
MaidsBoy View Drop Down
British and Irish Lion
British and Irish Lion


Joined: 05 Sep 2014
Location: Twickenham
Status: Offline
Points: 286
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MaidsBoy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Nov 2019 at 15:48
Originally posted by Barum man Barum man wrote:

Yesterday in Barum’s match against Maidenhead Barum were awarded a penalty try.
A Maidenhead player got the ball and sprinted to the halfway line and kicked
off before most all of the Barum players had got back in their own half – the ref
was also still way back in the 22.
<p ="msonormal"="">
I have never seen this before and was surprised that the ref allowed it to
stand so I guess it must be within the rules.



<p ="msonormal"=""> 



<!--if gte mso 9>
<w:Word>
<w:View>Normal</w:View>
<w:Zoom>0</w:Zoom>
<w:Compatibility>
   <w:BreakWrappedTables/>
   <w:SnapToGridInCell/>
   <w:ApplyBreakingRules/>
   <w:WrapTextWithPunct/>
   <w:UseAsianBreakRules/>
   <w:UseFELayout/>
</w:Compatibility>
<w:BrowserLevel>MicrosoftInternetExplorer4</w:BrowserLevel>
</w:Word>
<!--><!--if gte mso 10>

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
     {mso-style-name:"Table Normal";
     mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
     mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
     mso-style-noshow:yes;
     mso-style-parent:"";
     mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt;
     mso-para-margin:0cm;
     mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
     mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
     font-size:10.0pt;
     font-family:"Times New Roman";}

<!-->


Hi Barum Man,

We had it done to us in a preseason game a couple of years ago, by Rams, and subsequently tried it a couple of times since then. It is definitely NOT allowed, as has been confirmed to us since. You’ll notice only two Maids players chased initially, as we fully expected the ref to pull it back, which he didn’t.

A mistake from ‘Sir’, which could have changed the outcome of the game.
Back to Top
Camquin View Drop Down
World Cup Winner
World Cup Winner
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jun 2007
Location: Cambridge
Status: Online
Points: 6588
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Camquin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Nov 2019 at 15:57
There has been a lot of discussion on this topic over at rugby refs.
In general the concensus is that unless the non-offendong side are messing about, they should be given the benefit of the doubt - so normally I would expect it to be called back.
Blood and Sand
Back to Top
Barum man View Drop Down
British and Irish Lion
British and Irish Lion


Joined: 27 May 2016
Location: Southwest
Status: Offline
Points: 238
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Barum man Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Nov 2019 at 16:05
Originally posted by MaidsBoy MaidsBoy wrote:

[QUOTE=Barum man] Yesterday in Barum’s match against Maidenhead Barum were awarded a penalty try.
A Maidenhead player got the ball and sprinted to the halfway line and kicked
off before most all of the Barum players had got back in their own half – the ref
was also still way back in the 22.
<p ="msonormal"="">
I have never seen this before and was surprised that the ref allowed it to
stand so I guess it must be within the rules.




Hi Barum Man,

We had it done to us in a preseason game a couple of years ago, by Rams, and subsequently tried it a couple of times since then. It is definitely NOT allowed, as has been confirmed to us since. You’ll notice only two Maids players chased initially, as we fully expected the ref to pull it back, which he didn’t.

A mistake from ‘Sir’, which could have changed the outcome of the game.

It could be advantages for finding a good touch when an area is not full guarded or even just tapping it over the 10m line and regathering if you have a few supporting players. I wondered what the heck was going on Confused
Back to Top
Raider999 View Drop Down
World Cup Winner
World Cup Winner


Joined: 18 Jan 2013
Location: Crawley
Status: Offline
Points: 2437
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Raider999 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Nov 2019 at 17:03
Originally posted by Camquin Camquin wrote:


There has been a lot of discussion on this topic over at rugby refs.
In
general the concensus is that unless the non-offendong side are messing
about, they should be given the benefit of the doubt - so normally I
would expect it to be called back.


No difference between that and taking a quick penalty when the other teams back is turned or they aren't back 10 yards as often happens - never heard of anyone suggesting it shouldn't be allowed.

If one side can get to the halfway line the other can.
RAID ON
Back to Top
Count Ford View Drop Down
British and Irish Lion
British and Irish Lion


Joined: 20 May 2017
Location: WA4
Status: Offline
Points: 178
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Count Ford Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Nov 2019 at 18:04
It's an interesting one..but seems a counterproductive idea. What if the penalty try was given for collapsing a scrum/maul and therefore the receiving team is not back in position because they are in a heap on the floor, all caused by foul play of the other team.
Back to Top
Monkey Boy View Drop Down
World Cup Winner
World Cup Winner


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Status: Offline
Points: 1587
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Monkey Boy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Nov 2019 at 20:15
It’s not in the laws of the game so you retake the kick off
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.04
Copyright ©2001-2015 Web Wiz Ltd.